The WoolpackInnMuseum is a two story heritage listed historic building located in the main street of Holbrook.
The original Woolpack Inn was opened in 1839 by John Mitten and continued trading until it was destroyed by fire in 1895.
The current building was built as the Criterion Hotel in 1895 and was affectionately known by the locals as the “Bottom Pub” which continued trading until 1965.
In 1971 after a good deal of work by volunteers the WoolpackInnMuseum opened its doors to the public.
This museum, one of the best in rural New South Wales, has a large, unique and varied collection.
All the items on display have been donated by local residents over many years and now fill twenty-two rooms. These rooms depicting life in the 19th century include bedrooms, dining room, sitting room, kitchen, pantry and laundry, along with a number of other rooms filled with interesting items from by gone years.
Relocated and erected in the grounds is a c. 1872 drop slab school house, a replica of the old Holbrook bakery, a black smith’s shop and a large collection of old machinery, wagons and coaches.
The Museum is open each day from 9.30am to 4.00pm at a cost of $5.00 per head for adults, $3.00 concessions and $1.00 for children.
Catering for morning or afternoon tea or light lunch for groups of 20 or more by arrangement.
We are Closed Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year’s Day and Good Friday. Toilets on site.
The volunteers welcome visitors and coach groups to the museum.